One of my favourite things! 

One of my favourite ways to spend a winters day.

I’m not much of a summer person, in fact I really don’t like the summer in the UK at all. The humidity, the heat forcing me to change my shirt a few times a day, hayfever, only being allowed to take off so many clothes to cool down… Its just not fun. I much prefer the autum and winter seasons. Colder weather, beautiful autumn leaves, potential for snow, and only having to add a few layers to stay warm and feeling really snug when I do.

One of my favourite things to do in life can only really be done around this time of year. On a cold and rainy day I like to sit in my room with candles lit and incense burning. My desk lamp on its lowest setting just as to radiate this warm amber glow.  My windows open, so slightly I feel a cold breeze across my face while I sit on my bed embraced by my warmest hooded jacket. In the background,  my speaker plays soft melodic music, relaxing my mind and forcing me into an uncomfortablely looking comfortable slump. 

Its during this moment I get a true sensation of elation! Knowing that where I am in that moment is in between being asleep and being awake, between being cold and being warm. Living underneath a sea of cold grey clouds but surrounded by warm firery glows. My mind detached from the world around me. It’s when I feel at peace and most balanced in myself. 

I stay this way as long as I can, refering to it as ‘drifting’ as I slip in and out of sleep. As the sky embraces the darkness I switch on my mood light, flowing between a deep angry red and soothingly mellow orange. My room becomes a sea of colours, the music begins to fade, and I close my eyes on a day spent finding myself. 

Do you have a favourite thing to do? Are you more of a summer or winter person? Let me know in the comments below. Thanks for reading! 

Author: A Guy Called Kane

Hi I'm a guy called Kane! I'm an avid gamer, anime watcher, manga reader and drum & bass fanatic. I live in the South East of England, mastered in Political Security, and work as a Probation Officer. Topic suggestions welcome!!

Leave a Reply

