Bulbasaur, Charmander or Squirtle: An age old question

Who should I pick for my starter Pokémon; Bulbasaur, Charmander or Squirtle?

So I recently purchased a copy of Pokémon Blue from the Nintendo store on my DS. Today I started a new game, and as with all Pokémon games out there, I am immediately confronted with the most important decision I will ever make in my life; who is going to be my starter Pokémon? Will it be a fiery little lizard, a cheerful tiny turtle, or whatever the hell Bulbasaur is? So to help me decide I’m going to go through each of them below; lets start with a real fan favourite… 

Charmander:

The lizard Pokémon, with a tail on fire. This little creatue evolves into the famed Charizard and is undoubtedly one of the most loved Pokémon in the entire series. Fast, incredibly powerful, and versatile, Charizard is a Pokémon almost every trainer wants on their team in the end. Being so cute and friendly whilst offering tremendous potential is what makes charmander such a formidable starter Pokémon. If I were a really offensively focused Pokémon player Charmander would be my choice.

Bulbasaur:

The seed type Pokémon, or as I prefer to describe it, a plant frog dinosaur thingy….No? Ok well at least it looks happy to be itself! Bulbasaur is a really interesting starter Pokémon, it has access to a lot of abilities that debilitate it’s opponents and can manage to inflict some pretty serious damage too. Players who enjoy hindering and interference gameplay would be suited to Bulbasaur. Evolving into Venusaur is actually a bit of a disappointment for me however. I find Bulbasaur and its second form Ivysaur to lose their cute and somewhat cuddly appeal for a very ugly and off-putting final form.

Squirtle:

The tiny turtle Pokémon, Squirtle is undoubtedly the most cheerful of the three starters in question. A powerful water type with promising offensive and defensive capabilities. Squirtle evolves into the beastly Blastoise, a gigantic tortoise with water cannons portruding from its shell which are described as being powerful enough to pierce steel and concrete (which requires between 30 and 90 thousand psi to do!). Defensive players will enjoy this Pokémon the most, waiting patiently until it can unleash it’s incredible power. 

The discussion:

Firstly I’ll start by saying that Bulbasaur just isn’t in the running for me. Whilst it’s really interesting to play with and is really cute with that big gawking smile, I cant justify going for it knowing that I will end up with Venusaur. This leaves me with Squirtle and Charmander: opposite types and opposite play styles. Charmander is a really powerful Pokémon that only gets stronger as it evolves to Charizard, and having a kick ass fire breathing dragon looking Pokémon on your team never goes amiss (and yes I know it’s a fire and flying type you Pokémon fanatics). However, for me I have to go with Squirtle. This tiny turtle becomes an absolute powerhouse with Blastoise and I personally prefer Pokémon suited to patient, defensive gameplay. Squirtle is also the Pokémon that gives me a truly happy vibe, like it’s always cheerful and mischievous and wants to have fun. Let’s see where it takes me! 

So there it is, Squirtle will be my companion for my next Pokémon adventure on the classic and timeless Pokémon Blue version. Do you agree with my choice? Would you have chosen differently? Let me know in the comments below, thanks for reading!

Author: A Guy Called Kane

Hi I'm a guy called Kane! I'm an avid gamer, anime watcher, manga reader and drum & bass fanatic. I live in the South East of England, mastered in Political Security, and work as a Probation Officer. Topic suggestions welcome!!

6 thoughts on “Bulbasaur, Charmander or Squirtle: An age old question”

  1. You just wait until you eventually try the game cocaine that is Pokemon go ……. then you have the added dilemma of wether to ignore the treo of Ashes cheeky friends three times and catch a Pikachu instead. All in all i think you have made a good choice with a strong pokemon with good evolvability (yes im also not sure thats a word either).

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

