My top 10 PlayStation 4 games

My favourite PlayStation 4 games at the moment!

Ok so to start things off for me I’d like to give an idea of the sort of games I play and what I enjoy about them. I’m a console gamer who started with PlayStation 1 and PlayStation 2 before going on to Xbox 360 and now PlayStation 4, I have dabbled with pc gaming here and there but I find I prefer consoles for their pick up and play capability. Plus I’m an all-in-one kind of guy so Netflix, YouTube etc all through a ps4 makes sense to me. Here is a list of my top 10 PlayStation 4 games at the moment and why.
Just to mention, while these are numbered 1-10 I find each of these games immensely fun to play. And also lets be honest, who doesn’t enjoy a countdown?

Number 10: Grow Home

I got this game free through PS Plus monthly games and it’s probably one of the best I’ve come across. Taking control of a little red robot called ‘B.U.D’ and helping him not only grow and climb up the star plant, but also grow and mature as an individual on his journey back to ‘M.O.M’. Now this may seem odd, a little robot programmed to collect crystals and seeds maturing; but the whole game has this wonderful feeling of continual growth for B.U.D as he unlocks more flight systems, encounters new animals and overcomes more challenging obstacles the higher he climbs. With a very simplistic control scheme, one clear goal and a humorous little robot, Grow Home offers players an enjoyable alternative to the big titles out there. 

Number 9: Rocket League
As someone who has grown up with a father who is a football coach and I can’t kick a ball straight, this game allowed me to redeem myself for all the miserable FIFA losses he dealt me. Rocket League is full of fast, frantic and downright funny gameplay that has had me shouting with joy at the edge of my seat while I pretend to aeroplane across the pitch for that imaginary crowd cheering at my glorious backflip goal. This also brings back pleasant couch gaming experiences with my friends playing 2 V 2 or completing a season as a team of rocket car footballers, love it! 

Number 8: Titanfall 2
Because who doesn’t love destroying other massive robot battle suits with a massive robot battle suit of their own! Titanfall 2 took the best aspects of the first game, gave us a campaign and made everything just that much better. The gameplay is fast paced, offers unlimited freedom of movement and pits you in high octane robot death battles to prove who’s the better pilot. The most notable aspect of this game is the level of polish it received; it looks great, sounds great and just feels great to play! And oh boy, that campaign too, never did I imagine myself having such a feeling of companionship with a robot called BT as much as I did in this game, seriously, robot bros for life. 

Number 7: 7 Days to Die

Ok guys here’s the plan… let’s all go to the Winchester, grab a pint and wait for this all to blow over! 7 Days to Die is the most challenging zombie survival game I have ever played. 7 Days intricately blends the theme of zombie apocalypse survival with Minecraft style crafting and building gameplay that is unforgiving at the best of times.  Managing my hunger, thirst, temperature, wellness, general supplies and inventory is the foundation of this game, if you don’t you will die before  end of the first 7 days. As much as it is challenging there’s just something about this games inate difficulty that will have you wanting to reattempt the apocalypse time and time again so that you can prove your survival and zombie slaughtering skills. With online co-op I’ve found me and my friends screaming as we run for our lives from a zombie horde in the dead of night!

Number 6: Dragonball Xenoverse 2

Following on from Xenoverse 1 the developers have gracefully taken on board what players did and didn’t like about the first game and produced a great second instalment. Xenoverse 2 has an impressive roster of characters you can fight with including yet again being able to make your own character to do battle alongside or against the series greatest heroes and villains. With an interesting storyline featuring key moments of the Dragonball series, fans of this amazing Manga\Anime will have a blast of a time playing it, literally. For those unfamiliar with the series I would still recommend trying out Dragonball’s unique take on the fighting genre that provides players with plenty of in and out of battle content, fun and quirky characters, and endgame challenges.

Number 5: Ratchet & Clank 
One of my favourite series that I began playing in the PlayStation 2 era, this remake of the original game took what was good about it, gave it a face lift, and made it even better! With superb voice acting and polished visuals this game proves that not all games have to look and sound realistic to look and sound truly great. The writing is true to the series really bringing to life the zaney universe filled with quirky characters that Ratchet & Clank is set in. With an arsenal of some of the most comedic weapons I’ve ever seen in a video game, I found myself turning my enemies into sheep and making them disco dance to my groovibomb for hours on end.

Number 4: Battlefield 1
In a time where most of the iconic shooter franchises have flown out to space, Battlefield 1 takes us back to one of the darker periods of recent human history, World War One. I’m always sceptical of games based on real events like the Great War. I want developers to respect the sacrifices that people made and not trivialise their deaths for the sake of a good video game. Thankfully, Battlefield 1 provides a respectable tribute to historical events, depicting the horrors many people experienced within the Great War through 6 unique ‘War Stories’ that put players into the boots of people in different places of the war. Battlefield 1 has stayed true to its lineage and gives players more of the great squad based multiplayer gameplay that the Battlefield series is known for. Having a good variety of maps and containing mostly historically accurate weapons, Battlefield 1 is a game I can always count on to give me an enjoyable gaming experience.

Number 3: Doom 2016
Winston Churchill once said ‘If you are going through hell, keep going’ and that is absolutely the case with Doom 2016. A masterpiece of pure unadulterated and unrestrained brutality, Doom 2016 brings the classic 1st person shooter into the modern age, in fact it howled hellish screams as it kicked down the front door of 2016! This game is the most refined and carefully cultivated 1st person shooter I have ever played which is perfectly complemented by the most badass metal soundtrack that instantly gets you in the mood to take on the horror’s hell. In addition to the one of the most violently unhinged campaigns I’ve ever played, Doom 2016 also offers an enjoyable multiplayer and includes the snapmap feature letting players create their own nightmares for other player to traumatise themselves with. If you haven’t played this game yet, stop reading and go get it. 


Number 2: Nier: Automata

Despite only recently releasing I’ve got to put this as one of the best games I have ever played on any platform! Nier: Automata beautifully blends a multitude of gameplay styles into one game and makes it work perfectly. N:A elegantly switches the mode of play from 3rd person to side scrolling, top down and old school flight combat without making it seem out of place or without purpose. Everything about this game feels unique, and it left me wanting more and more all of the time. The writing creatively takes players on a story that challenges the concept of ‘ones being’ through several interesting characters and the relationships they build with one another. The game has left me with lots of questions about the world it is set in and I don’t think I will ever get the answers. However, I don’t feel like this is a bad thing, actually it reinforces Nier:Automata’s veil of mysticism and allows the game to flourish as a truly cult classic! 

Number 1: Warframe
Taking the final spot on my list is the only game to ever hook me for more than a months worth of in-game hours. Warframe is a 3rd person shooter, mixed hack & slash that puts players in control of deadly space ninja battle suits known as ‘Warframes’. Players effectively commit space genocide against three distinctive factions that currently plague the solar system. Seriously if there was a space Hague I’d be on trial for mass murder every day. Warframe possess an incredible amount of content that could easily be compared to that of an onion, the more you eat into it, the more layers of the game you discover. Offering 4 player co-op on regular missions and 8 player raids to really test your skills Warframe is not in short supply of things to do. Each player has the option to select from hundreds of different weapons and over 30 different warframes  that can each be independently modified for player preference, the possibilities for dealing out pain and misery is endless! Finally the game is still being added to with an active development team that regularly churns out new content for players to enjoy, oh and did I mention it’s free?! 

So that’s it for my list, hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed writing it, I’m thinking of doing some other top 10’s in the future and some individual game thoughts and opinions. Please leave comments I’d love to hear your thoughts! 

Author: A Guy Called Kane

Hi I'm a guy called Kane! I'm an avid gamer, anime watcher, manga reader and drum & bass fanatic. I live in the South East of England, mastered in Political Security, and work as a Probation Officer. Topic suggestions welcome!!

3 thoughts on “My top 10 PlayStation 4 games”

  1. Have to echo the above comments . Having only recently started playing warframe i am completely hooked and is definitely no 1 for me. Very well written and a few games i will look to try in the near future . Way to go Kane.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

